Do you know how densely populated Bangalore is? You'll know if you're a female bike rider. Even if you take the same route everyday, you won't get to see ONE familiar face. Even along the store fronts and cafes that people hang out so often, will you get to see a FLICKER of recognition. Zilch. Jeero. It's so embarrassing to have so many eyes riveted to you! And then when you saunter into college, people will look at you and say "That's so cool, ya!"
My foot, it is. All the time I'm riding, I think of all the appropriate nick-names I could have:
1. Drool Inductor (It has "drool" in it!! Eww!)
2. The Pink Pulsar (My pulsar's black, but I take the liberty to wear bright PINK salwar kameezes while riding it)
3. Lady, all geared (Gives a wrong meaning, doesn't it? Hmm.)
More useless imaginary nick-names later. But you know what I have an abundance of? T-shirt quotes! The experiences that I get each day... Makes me think of new T-shirt quotes. One day, when I have the cash, I'll get them customized! (Till then, use this blog post to be nice to me and buy some for my birthday)
1. Wouldn't it be easier if you had rear-view mirrors instead? (For those mirror-less people who risk their lives on the road just to turn around and look at me)
2. What for are you racing, dude? Aren't you ashamed of competing with a girl??
3. I don't need your eyes. I have two of my own.
4. My bike has no ball bearings.
5. You can't impress us by speeding in lower gears, anymore!
6. Never seen a bike? Or never seen girls?
7. Wait till I tell your girlfriend!
8. Yes, yes, I know it's not the back brake!
So yeah, there's no getting used to people staring at you all the time, because it's different each time! That gives me PLENTY of stuff to write about! I'm going to sit and chronicle them... Mine is a different world and I invite you to take a look. Maybe that way, at least, you won't make the mistakes that I made (that means, you, silly girl, who thinks it's awesome to ride a bike and pestering your dad to buy you one using me as a front!). I realized- I can't be neutral about this anymore! You can't move forward if you're stuck in neutral, remember?
Whoa ho ho, nice!
ReplyDeleteI remember the first time I saw a girl on a motorbike. She was on a Thunderbird, and dressed to fit - denim and boots. Love at first sight, I tell you. I never got to see her again, but I live in hope...
And then there was the babe on an Apache, with whom I fell in love, for 0.43 seconds. About the time it took her to zoom out of my field of vision. All this, when I was doing 80 on the Elevated Highway, mind.
love the article :D disagree with one line though: "2. What for are you racing, dude? Aren't you ashamed of competing with a girl??"
ReplyDeleteisn't that sexist, babe? now why should he be ashamed? he must consider himself lucky, to find a biker chick and then take the opportunity to race her :P
It's the guy who is being the sexist prick.
ReplyDelete